Cart

Sabriel

Garth Nix
"The first thrilling installment of Garth Nix's bestselling OLD KINGDOM series"

Begin a new adventure: the first thrilling installment of Garth Nix's bestselling OLD KINGDOM fantasy series.

Sabriel has spent most of her young life far away from the magical realm of the Old Kingdom, and the Dead that roam it. But all that changes when a creature from across the Wall arrives at her all-girls boarding school. The creature carries a message from her father, the Abhorsen – the magical protector of the realm whose task it is to bind and send back to Death those that won't stay Dead. Since the demise of the Royal Family the Dead have become stronger and more fearless, and now it seems their forces are threatening to overwhelm the Old Kingdom.

Sabriel's father has been trapped in Death by a dangerous Free Magic creature. He urges her to return to her homeland, and to discover who or what is behind this uprising. Armed with her father's binding-bells and sword, she soon finds companions in Mogget, an ancient spirit bound into the body of a cat, and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage whom Sabriel frees from a long, magical imprisonment.

As the three travel deep into the Old Kingdom, threats mount on all sides. And every step brings them closer to a battle that will pit them against the true forces of life and death – and bring Sabriel face-to-face with her own destiny.

With over 1 million Old Kingdom books sold in the UK, this timeless fantasy series is perfect for readers of Philip Pullman.

Praise for Garth Nix:
'Sabriel is a winner . . . a world with the same solidity and four-dimensional authority as our own, created with invention, clarity and intelligence' Philip Pullman, author of the His Dark Materials series

'One of the best worldbuilders in fantasy . . . I love the Old Kingdom series' Brandon Sanderson

'There is no joy like returning to the Old Kingdom . . . Nix sets the standard for fantasy' Leigh Bardugo

'One of the greatest living fantasy writers . . . I will never get enough of the Old Kingdom' Sarah J. Maas

Bonus Content:
The ebook edition is packed with bonus content like a "How I Write" essay and, for devices that support audio, 12 clips of an exclusive interview with Garth.

Publication Date: 05/06/2014
EBook: 9781471404009

Categories

Author

Garth Nix

Garth Nix was born in 1963 in Melbourne, Australia. A full-time writer since 2001, he has worked as a literary agent, marketing consultant, book editor, book publicist, book sales representative, bookseller, and as a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve. Garth's books include the award-winning Old Kingdom fantasy novels Sabriel, Lirael, Abhorsen and, most recently, the prequel Clariel. He has also written the science fiction novels Shade's Children and A Confusion of Princes. His fantasy novels for children include The Ragwitch; the six books of The Seventh Tower sequence; The Keys to the Kingdom series; and with Sean Williams, the Troubletwisters books and Spirit Animals: Blood Ties.

More than five million copies of Garth's books have been sold around the world, his books have appeared on the bestseller lists of the New York Times, Publishers Weekly, the Guardian and the Australian, and his work has been translated into 40 languages. He lives in Sydney, Australia. Follow Garth on twitter at @garthnix or at www.garthnix.com